With the exception of the South Dakota State Quarter, the US Mint will not be introducing any more new coins this year. The Mint still has yet to deliver the uncirculated American Eagle coins with the “W” mint mark, the Greetings from America partnership products with the US Postal Service, and the San Francisco Old Mint Commemorative coins. All this from a mint that produces more coins and medals than any other production facility in the world!

While we wait for the release of these product, this gives us time to look to next year. With the Westward Journey Nickel Series ending this year, the design that appears in your change today will continue into the future. The five states honored in the 50 State Quarters® program are Montana, Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, and Utah. There will be one more year of State Quarters in 2008.

Coming in 2007 will be the start of the Presidential $1 Coin Act. Beginning in 2007, the Mint will issue one dollar coins commemorating the past Presidents of the United States, four presidents per year (for more information see my article The Presidential $1 Circulating Commemorative). The presidents featured in 2007 will be George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison. Also being featured on their own ten dollar gold commemorative are the First Ladies Martha Washington, Abigail Adams, Martha Jefferson, and Dolley Madison.

For the fans of commemorative coins, 2007 will bring the Jamestown 400th Anniversary Commemorative Coin Program honoring the 400th anniversary of the Jamestown Settlement. For more on this program, see my article Commemorating 400 Years of Living in America.

It will be interesting to see how the Mint presents these programs. One prediction will be the continuation of the First Day Coin Covers as part of the Presidential $1 Coin series. Stay tuned!

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: