On Saturday, September 5, 2006, the US Mint announced that Edmund C. Moy was sworn in as the 38th Director of the US Mint. Moy succeeds Henrietta Holsman Fore who became the Under Secretary of State for Management. David A. Lebrynk was acting director between Fore’s appointment at the State Department and the installation of Moy. Lebrynk returns to his Assistant Director role.

Moy served on the transition team for George W. Bush and has served in various offices in the Bush administration. Previously, Moy served in the Department of Health and Human Services for President George H.W. Bush.

Pursuant to the Coinage Act of 1873 (31 U.S.C. §304), the Director of the Mint is appointed for a term of five years. However, it is common in today’s political environment that many appointees resign at the end of the president’s term in office to allow the new president to appoint a new team. The last director to serve full terms under two presidents was Donna Pope, who was appointed by President Ronald Regan but served under President George H.W. Bush as well.

Good luck to Director Moy!

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: