A legacy of the 109th congress that will be felt for some time is the Presidential $1 Coin Act (Public Law 109-145 [GPO: text or pdf]). This law calls for the minting of $1 circulating coins commemorating each of the Presidents of the United States in order that they served. Four coins will be issued each year starting in 2007 with issues honoring George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison. Along with the Presidential $1 Coins, the US Mint will issue companion $10 gold First Spouse commemoratives.

This week, the Mint sent the the first Presidential $1 Coin e-Newsletter those who subscribed. In this inaugural issue, the Mint announced that the first four designs will be revealed on November 20, 2006. The official release of the George Washington $1 coin will be issued on February 15, 2007, in time for Presidents’ Day. Future coins will be released quarterly. As with the 50 State Quarters® Program, the Mint will be producing educational material along with the release of the $1 coins and bronze medals of the First Spouse gold coins.

In 2007, the proof set will expand to 14 coins including the Presidential $1 Coin and the Sacagawea Dollar, which will continue to be minted. The mint set will also expand to 28 coins. I am sure that the additional coins will increase the price of the sets. The Mint have not announced these prices.

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: