American Numismatic Association Executive Director Kim Kiick announced the official election results. Since the president and vice president ran unopposed, these offices are as follows:

Jeff Garrett (Lexington, KY)

Vice President:
Gary Adkins (Minneapolis, MN)

For the Board of Governors, there were four incumbents running who were re-elected. Of the three other seats vacated by Gary Adkins (who became Vice President), Scott Rottinghaus, Jeff Swindling and Laura Sperber (who did not seek re-election), one is making a return to the Board of Governors, the current president rejoins the Board, and the board adds one new member. The ANA Board of Governors is as follows:

Board of Governors:
Col. Steve Ellsworth, Ret. (Clifton, VA) – 3,705 votes
Dr. Donald H. Kagin (Tiburon, CA) – 3,451 votes
Walter Ostromecki Jr. (Encino, CA) – 3,319 votes
Dr. Ralph Ross (Sugar Land, TX) – 3,222 votes
Greg Lyon (St. Louis, MO) – 2,982 votes
Thomas A. Mulvaney (Lexington, KY) – 2,746 votes
Paul Montgomery (Oklahoma City, OK) – 2,407 votes

The candidates that were not elected are as follows:

  • Brian Hendelson (Bridgewater, NJ) – 2,221 votes
  • Christopher Marchase (Colorado Springs, CO) – 2,006 votes
  • Oded Paz (Arco, ID) – 1,950 votes
  • Richard Jozefiak (Madison, AL) – 1,872 votes
  • Steve D’Ippolito (Peyton, CO) – 1,844 votes

In the event that any of the new board members cannot serve, the next-highest vote-getter will fill that seat for the rest of the two-year term.

The new board members will be sworn-in at the annual ANA Banquet on Friday, Aug. 14, at the World’s Fair of Money in Rosemont, Ill. Garrett will become the Association’s 59th president, succeeding current President Walter Ostromecki.

COMMENTARY: All men and only one minority. No wonder hobby participation is shrinking. Only the investors and speculators are fueling the top end. Sure, there may be some kids, but there is no outreach to girls and minorities making it appear that the hobby is not welcoming. I hope this is something that can be addressed sooner rather than later!

Finally, if you want to see the announcement, you can watch it here:

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: