Numismatically, the legislative news of the month is the hold placed on David Ryder’s nomination by Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-IA) in what amounts to a hissy fit over the Department of the Treasury not answering his inquiries. The problem is that to Secretary of the Treasury Steven Mnuchin, it does not matter.

Currently, David Motl is the Acting Deputy Director and the highest-ranking official at the U.S. Mint. Providing department oversight of the U.S. Mint is Treasurer of the United States Jovita Carranza, who has been in office since June 19, 2017. From Mnuchin’s perspective, there is no urgency to have a permanent director when there are two people doing the job.

A source tells me that there is a strange dynamic between Mnuchin and Congress. While he seems to get along with members of the Senate Banking Committee, there are strains in relationships with other members including Grassley, who is the Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee. One source suggested that Mnuchin may feel that he does not have to answer to the Judiciary Committee since the Banking Committee has more direct oversight of Treasury.

Regardless of the issues, it is preventing Ryder’s nomination from moving forward.

H.R. 770: American Innovation $1 Coin Act
Sponsor: Rep. James A. Himes (D-CT)
Introduced: January 31, 2017
Summary: This bill directs the Department of the Treasury to mint and issue “American Innovation” $1 coins commemorating an innovation, an individual innovator or pioneer, or a group of innovators or pioneers from each state, each U.S. territory, and the District of Columbia. Treasury shall issue four coins per year, in alphabetical order by jurisdiction, until a coin has been issued for each jurisdiction.
Referred to the House Committee on Financial Services. — Jan 31, 2017
Mr. Duffy moved to suspend the rules and pass the bill, as amended. — Jan 16, 2018
Considered under suspension of the rules. — Jan 16, 2018
DEBATE – The House proceeded with forty minutes of debate on H.R. 770. — Jan 16, 2018
On motion to suspend the rules and pass the bill, as amended Agreed to by voice vote. — Jan 16, 2018
Motion to reconsider laid on the table Agreed to without objection. — Jan 16, 2018
Received in the Senate and Read twice and referred to the Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs. — Jan 17, 2018
This bill can be tracked at

PN1355: David J. Ryder — Department of the Treasury
Date Received from President: January 8, 2018
Summary: David J. Ryder, of New Jersey, to be Director of the Mint for a term of five years, vice Edmund C. Moy, resigned.
Received in the Senate and referred to the Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs. — Jan 8, 2018
Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs. Ordered to be reported favorably. — Jan 17, 2018
Reported by Senator Crapo, Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs, without printed report. — Jan 17, 2018
Placed on Senate Executive Calendar. Calendar No. 596. Subject to nominee’s commitment to respond to requests to appear and testify before any duly constituted committee of the Senate. — Jan 17, 2018
This nomination can be tracked at

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: